naked-academeNaked in Academe:

In 1946, the poet Earle Birney, then an English professor at the University of British Columbia, broke new ground by establishing a single course within the English department, one for the writer ‘naked in academe.’ He went on to found the UBC Creative Writing Department in 1963. Celebrating fifty years of creative writing at UBC, Naked in Academe showcases an impressive diversity of literary voices that have grown out of the program. From short stories to poetry, narrative essays to scripts for theatre and film, herein is a dynamic collection of writing from across Canada that, like the program itself, is at once contemporary and vibrant, relevant and incisive.

Editor: Rhea Tregebov.
Contributors: Alison Acheson, Anar Ali, Elizabeth Bachinsky, Stephanie Bolster, Roo Borson, Deborah Campbell, Kevin Chong, Michael Christie, Amber Dawn, Kaitlin Fontana, Dennis Foon, Steven Galloway, Bill Gaston, Lee Gowan, Sara Graefe, Andrew Gray, Lee Henderson, Jack Hodgins, Anosh Irani, Sarah Leavitt, Nancy Lee, Annabel Lyon, Keith Maillard, George McWhirter, Maureen Medved, Jane Munro, Barbara Nickel, Sara O’Leary, Susan Olding, Sina Queyras, Eden Robinson, Laisha Rosnau, Andreas Schroeder, Shannon Stewart, and John Vigna.

Buy the Ebook!

Amazon Kindle

PRISM International:

512_webcoverStarted in 1959, PRISM is the oldest literary magazine in Western Canada. Its archives are a Who’s Who of modern and contemporary literature.

PRISM’s mandate is to publish the best in contemporary writing and translation from Canada and around the world.

Graduate students in the residential MFA program may apply for editorial and management positions with PRISM.

Click here to visit Prism International


This online magazine explores writing and publishing through interviews with established writers carried out by UBC Creative Writing Graduate students. Visit Nineteen Questions online for more.

Brave New Play Rites:

book_bravenewBrave New Play Rites presented twenty years of original and startling theatre from Canada’s best young writers. The book was a collection of short one-act plays written by students in the Creative Writing Program at UBC and produced at the annual festival, Brave New Play Rites, for public performances. Many successful writers have had their plays produced in the festival, including Lynn Coady, Steven Galloway, Dennis Bolen, Kevin Chong, and Aaron Bushkowsky. The release of Brave New Play Rites coincided with the 20th anniversary year of the festival.

ISBN: 1-895636-75-2. Published April 2006. Order from Indigo \ Order from

Write Turns:

book_writeturnsWrite Turns was an anthology of fiction published by Raincoast Books, celebrating some of the best writing to come from Creative Writing alumni and students from the 1990s. It includes work by: Zsuzsi Gartner, Eden Robinson, Anne Fleming, Terence Young, Murray Logan, Annabel Lyon, Debbie Howlett, Alison Acheson, Adam Lewis Schroeder, Andrew Gray, Aislinn Hunter, Rick Maddocks, Kelli Deeth and Nancy Lee.

ISBN: 1551924021, Published November 2001.

Words We Call Home:

book_wordswecallhomeWords We Call Home is a commemorative anthology celebrating the first twenty-five years of achievement for the UBC Creative Writing department.Published in 1990 it included work from: Leonard Angel, Christiane Balk, Carol Bolt, Roo Borson, George Bowering, Robert Bringhurst, Frank Davey, Don Dickinson, Glen Downie, Daryl Duke, Kenneth Dyba, David Evanier, Marya Fiamengo, Michael Finlay, Dennis Foon, Cathy Ford, Eric Forrer, Bill Gaston, Gary Geddes, Kico Gonzalez-Risso, Elizabeth Gourlay, Paul Green, Genni Gunn, Geoff Hancock, Robert Harlow, Ernest Hekkanen, Gladys Hindmarch, Jack Hodgins, Margaret Hollingsworth, Debbie Howlett, Ann Ireland, Sally Ireland, Surjeet Kalsey, Lionel Kearns, Norman Klenman, Charles Lillard, Cynthia MacDonald, Kenneth McGoogan, Florence McNeil, Kim Maltman, Jill Mandrake, Daphne Marlatt, Seymour Mayne, Jennifer Mitton, Daniel David Moses, Erin Moure, Jane Munro, Rona Murray, Morgan Nyberg, Morris Panych, George Payerle, E.G. Perrault (who was in Earle Birney’s first class), Karen Petersen, Maida Price, Linda Rogers, Lake Sagaris, Andreas Schroeder, Robert G. Sherrin, Heather Spears, Richard Stevenson, Dona Sturmanis, Fred Wah, Tom Wayman, Ian Weir, Jim Wong-Chu, Andrew Wreggit and Derk Wynand.

ISBN: 0774803673, Published 1990. Available from UBC Press.