Annabel Lyon

Associate Professor: Fiction




CRWR 409M S01 – Writing Fiction
CRWR 599 – Thesis

About Annabel Lyon

Annabel Lyon published her first book, Oxygen, a collection of stories, in 2000. The Best Thing for You, a collection of three novellas, followed in 2004 and was nominated for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. She has written two books for children, All Season Edie (2009) and Encore Edie (2010).

Her first novel, The Golden Mean, was published in 2009 to great acclaim. It held the distinction of being the only book nominated that year for all three of Canada’s major fiction prizes: the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General’s Award and the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Of the three, she won the Rogers Prize. The book has been translated into multiple languages.

Her second novel, The Sweet Girl, a sequel to The Golden Mean, was published in fall, 2012.