Maggie de Vries

Maggie de Vries
: Writing for Children
Office: N/A
Office Phone: N/A
Email: TBA

Courses Taught

CRWR 353I-001: Intermediate Children and Young Adult Writing Workshop
CRWR 403J-003: Writing for Children and young Adults I
CRWR 503I-D01 &503J-D02: Advanced Writing for Children

About Maggie de Vries

Maggie de Vries is the author of eight books for children, Once Upon a Golden Apple (co-authored with Jean Little and illustrated by Phoebe Gilman), How Sleep Found Tabitha (illustrated by Sheena Lott), Tale of a Great White Fish (illustrated by Renne Benoit), Chance and the Butterfly, Fraser Bear, Hunger Journeys, Somebody’s Girl and Big City Bees. She is also the author of one book for adults, Missing Sarah: a Memoir of Loss, and a number of other pieces about her life. For seven years, Maggie was children’s book editor at Orca Book Publishers in Victoria and she still edits teen fantasy now and again. In 2005, she was Vancouver Public Library’s first Writer in Residence, and she has been teaching children’s literature and creative writing courses for almost twenty years.

Maggie teaches in both the on-campus and Optional-Residency writing programs.