Faculty & Staff News

Congratulations to Creative Writing Assistant Professor Steven Galloway. His novel The Confabulist, was shortlisted for the 2014 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize.


event_sweet_girlCongratulations to Creative Writing Assistant Professor Annabel Lyon. Lyon’s The Sweet Girl was longlisted for the 2012 Scotiabank Giller Prize.


Rhea TregebovCongratulations to Associate Professor Rhea Tregebov! Rhea’s novel, The Knife Sharpener’s Bell was long-listed for Manitoba Reads, a competition in the spirit of Canada Reads.



faculty_andreas_schroeder_1Congratulations Andreas Schroeder, recipient of the Graeme Gibson Award

Author Andreas Schroeder was presented with the Graeme Gibson Award by The Writers’ Union of Canada at its Annual General Meeting on May 26, 2012. Established by the Union in 1991 for “varied and remarkable contributions to improve the circumstances of writers in Canada,” the award was first given to Graeme Gibson. In 1992 it was given to Pierre Berton and in 2011 to Heather Robertson. Andreas Schroeder is its fourth recipient.

Andreas Schroeder was the Chair of The Writers’ Union in 1976/77 and was instrumental in creating Canada’s Public Lending Right (PLR), which came into existence in 1986.  The Public Lending Right provides for a modest but critical annual payment to Canadian book authors whose works are available in Canadian libraries for lending.  As early as 1972 Marian Engel began lobbying for a Public Lending Right in Canada. When she became ill, Andreas took over the Union’s crusade in 1975, and it took 11 more years of effort before the Public Lending Right Commission came into being.  He then became its Founding Chair (1985-1988) and continued to serve on its Board from 1988 to 2008.  By PLR’s 25th anniversary in 2011, it was mailing cheques totalling $9.9 million to 17,487 Canadian authors.

Every Canadian writer has Andreas to thank, Andreas and all those who worked so hard over the years for PLR,” said Greg Hollingshead, Writers’ Union Chair. “It’s been a wonderful legacy for a quarter century of Canadian writing.”

Andreas Schroeder is the author of 23 books of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry including Renovating Heaven, Shaking It Rough, Dustship Glory, and File of Uncertainties. His books have been finalists for the Governor General’s Literary Award, the Sealbooks First Novel Award, the Arthur Ellis Award for Non-Fiction, and the BC Book Prize Ethel Wilson Fiction Award.  He has won the Ontario Library Association Red Maple Award twice for young-adult nonfiction.  His work as a journalist has earned him a National Magazine Award, a Stephen Leacock Award, and a Canadian Association of Journalists’ Best Investigative Journalism Award.  He has long been a mentor to young writers and currently holds the Rogers Communications Chair in Creative Nonfiction at the University of British Columbia.  Andreas Schroeder lives in Roberts Creek, on British Columbia’s Sunshine Coast.


event_schroeder_2Creative Writing faculty member, Andreas Schroeder is the godfather of BC’s non-fiction boom.

click here to read full storyRead the story on the Globe and Mail



event_schroeder_1Congratulations to Creative Writing Faculty Andreas Schroeder, on his recently re-released docu-novel DUST-SHIP GLORY  (Univ. of Athabasca Press) and his two new works of juvenile creative nonfiction, DUPED: True Stories of the World’s Best Swindlers, and ROBBERS: True Stories of the World’s Most Notorious Thieves (both from Annick Press). Schroeder also has an essay entitled The Joy Of The Ancient Marriers  in a recently published collection of personal essays entitled SLICE ME SOME TRUTH, published by Wolsak & Wynn.


event_charlotte_gillThe Writers Trust has just announced the finalists for the Hilary Weston Writers Trust prize for Nonfiction, and our very own alumna and Opt Res faculty member Charlotte Gill is one of the five finalists up for the richest nonfiction award in Canada. Charlotte’s book Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe was recently published by Greystone Books/David Suzuki Foundation.

Each of the five finalists will receive $5,000, with the eventual prizewinner receiving a total of $60,000. The prize will be awarded in Toronto at Koerner Hall at the Telus Centre for Performance and Learning during an event and after-party on October 25.

click here to read full storyHilary Weston Writers Trust Prize


event_hunger_journeysAdjunct Professor Maggie de Vries’ Hunger Journeys wins the Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize!

click here to read full storyClick here to read more